Is anyone growing Rye?

I was wondering if anyone has any experience with growing and selling Rye.

• What would be a good variety to start with?
  • is the growing season the same as with wheat?
  • what would be a good seeding rate?
  • is there a market for a few acres of rye?

Thanks for any help you can give!

1 Like

Thanks for this question, Captain! I know Nate has in the past. If you check out this section of the website you’ll see that Rachel if Mendocino Grain Project is growing some AND Grass Valley Grain (that’s Reed Hamilton from our call)! @ClaudiaCarter or @nan any other ideas?

I have grown Merced rye a number of years because I could get organic seed. I have no experience with heritage varieties. Rye can be planted later than wheat or oats as long as you can get in the field but an early start gives it some time to get established. If the winter is cold and wet, sometimes it will stay a few inches tall until spring but then it takes off. You have to be careful about too much nitrogen or it will get too tall and lodge if it gets windy.It often gets 5 feet tall anyway. I usually plant 100 lbs/acre. I found rye to be slower to dry in the spring so harvesting late June. I was on a heavy clay loam.

I know that Early Bird Farm in Nevada City is looking for rye and there is a German bakery in SF that uses a lot of rye. Maybe Leyna or Nate remembers the name. Might be good to try a few acres first to see what planting rate and timing works for you.

2 Likes

Thanks Reed!

We have been growing Merced rye for years as a winter cover that gets worked into the ground in spring, so I do have a bit of experience with it. Because I only know Merced rye as a cover crop I didn’t know if it had any retail value, it’s good to hear you were able to sell some.

I don’t have any access to certified organic ground right now, but maybe I will put in a few acres and see if there is a market for conventional.

1 Like